Bylaws Update (Annual Report 2021), submitted by: Laurie Kaplan and Stephen Sweeney

#### Members

Laurie Kaplan, co-chair (ProQuest)
Stephen Sweeney, co-chair (St. John Vianney Theological Seminary)
Maria Aghazarian, member (Swarthmore College)
Christina Geuther, member (Kansas State University)
Keondra Bailey, board liaison (Duke University)

# **Continuing Activities (Required)**

The committee continually reviews our Bylaws, Bylaws Manual and calendar for needed changes.

## **Completed Activities (Required)**

The Bylaws committee updated the Changes document to reflect changes made to the Bylaws since 2016. The committee met and discussed actions for 2020-2021. We reviewed the existing Bylaws and in February updated the document with some changes from the past two revisions that were not properly incorporated. We also updated the language regarding meetings, and at the request of the Board updated the term of office for Members-at-Large to three years (from two), adjusted the number who rotate off to two each year (from half), and changed the number of gap years after serving two consecutive terms to three (from two). These changes were posted to the website in April.

## **Budget (Required)**

None needed at this time.

## Action(s) Required by Board

None needed at this time.

## **Questions for Board**

None at this time.

### **Recommendations to Board**

We would recommend that a specific style manual for NASIG documents be considered to bring consistency to all NASIG documents.

submitted on: (April 23, 2021)